Michigan Divorce Lawyers
What You Need To Know About Divorce in Michigan
Moreover, you must file for divorce within the state of Michigan and within the Michigan County where you and your spouse reside – although you are free to file for divorce in the county where your spouse resides if you do not live together. Plus, you must have lived in Michigan for at least six months to file for divorce in Michigan.
Once you file for divorce and if you have no children from your current marriage, you must wait 60 days before the divorce is finalized. However, if you have children from the current marriage, you will have to wait at least 6 months until the divorce is finalized – keep in mind if there’s a battle over custody and property, the timeframe can take much longer.
In The News
Chris Kessel Law isn’t just a bunch of attorneys — we’re actively involved in the Metro Detroit community as well.
On The Blog
From the latest local legal news to the buzz from around the Nation, our law blog offers the latest updates on important issues that impact us all.